Thursday, January 21, 2010

Seriously?


Soooooo.....I have some very vivid memories of my grandfather, driving around, refusing to ask for directions and my grandmother yelling at him to stop and ask someone, ANYONE, for directions. However, I also remember my grandmother getting lost, very often, even after having asked for directions.


Why can't we just learn from our mistakes and be willing to ask for directions and then shut the fuck up and listen to the directions and then actually follow them? Porque why?


I often have to give directions here at the front desk. I usually don't mind...really. Unless you're a person with no sense of direction. However, I find it's a very specific type of person that has the most problems. I know I'm going to get so much heat from this but it's true.


I previously worked at the front desk for three years and now I'm back. I've given directions to women and men. The only time I've had a situation in which the caller will not listen to the directions or will not actually follow the directions is when the caller is a woman. Oh, and they get really mean when they get lost. It's not all women, mind you. But, the men seem to get here just fine. No problems.


I don't want to perpetuate some stupid stereotype about women drivers. I'm just venting about one of the more aggravating aspects to working the front desk...I'm just sayin'. Please don't come to my house and cut me. Or hit me. Or tear me a new one. Or torture my cats and make me watch. Please.





No comments:

Post a Comment