Soooooo....I have ADHD. Wait, what was I saying? Oh, yes, ADHD with a big 'ol "H". I forget everything, miss important details, lose things, run everywhere, talk really fast, interrupt conversations, and procrastinate in the worst way. Diagnosis confirmed.
But, I have a friend on my side. His name is Vyvanse and he looks out for me. I took this little pill yesterday and today and boy did I get shit done around here. I actually enjoy finishing tasks and making lists and planning ahead. I WANT to do it. I can ignore outside stimuli until I've finished what I'm working on. It's weird but wonderful.
However, the medicine makes me feel like death warmed over. The withdrawals are a bitch. I have a hard time sleeping, sometimes I get chills, and I have no appetite, and I have to drink water like a fish or I'll get really dehydrated.
What's a girl to do?
I've been trying to get away with only taking the medication when I'm especially distracted. But, I'm beginning to think that it might benefit me to take it daily, minus the weekends of course. I know there's ways to cope without the medication but they don't work for me. I can keep calenders and planners and lists but they usually get lost or ignored. I can meditate, but it's never even put a dent in the hyperactivity.
Catch-22


No comments:
Post a Comment