Wednesday, July 14, 2010

This cannot be happening...

Cold sores:  Ugly.  Painful.  Stigmatizing.  Gross.  Embarrassing

They're caused by a virus called Herpes Simplex 1, not to be confused with Herpes Simplex 2, which causes genital herpes.  Most people with cold sores acquire them as children and the virus lays latent in their bodies FOR EVER!  Due to stress and illness there are breakouts.  What does one look like?  I'll show you (take the children out of the room):



Big enough for 'ya?  Are u okay?  Do you need to sit down, a glass of water, maybe some smelling salts?

 That's what I have to deal with for the next 10-14 days.  Fuck.  Remember the last post about how stressed out I've been and how I had a stomach bug not too long ago that I'm kind of still recovering from?  You 'memer! All that is the perfect recipe for this:



Any questions? 

It's very embarrassing.  I hate leaving the apartment when I have one.  Even worse, I'm a receptionist so everyone that walks through that door gets a gander at it.  I've had all kinds of reactions from complete indifference to looks of alarm and disgust.  For 10-14 days, I'm a leper. 

I see my doctor today.  I'm soooo going to beg for a prescription for the generic form of Valtrex.  Everything I've read says that you can take a dose when you first feel the tingle (it all starts with a tingle) and there won't even be a blister!  Que nice.

And for the record, here's a list of all the celebrities that stand in solidarity with me on this:

•Alexa Chung
•Alyssa Milano
•Anne Heche
•Bill Clinton
•Billy Idol
•Brad Pitt
•Britney Spears
•Colin Farrell
•David Beckham
•David Hasselhoff
•Derek Jeter
•Elle Macpherson
•Fred Durst
•Janet Jackson
•Jessica Alba
•Jessica Biel
•Katie Holmes
•Kim Kardashian
•Lauren Hutton
•Liza Minnelli
•Lucie Arnaz
•Mariah Carey
•Mary Kate Olsen
•Michael Vick
•Moby
•Nicole Kidman
•Paris Hilton
•Pamela Anderson

Okay, so there are a few sleaze bags on this list but some of these folks are very respectable people...I mean, Bill Clinton...he was leader of the free world for 8 years!  I think you get the point. 

So, it's off to work.  Without a car as it's in the shop.  But, I won't stress out about it.  No.  Or I'll end up with another one of these:







No comments:

Post a Comment