Wednesday, May 27, 2009

Give me a break...


So Newt Gingrich thinks that the new Supreme Court nominee, Sonia Sotomayor, is a 'racist' because of a statement she made about the broader spectrum of experiences that a Latina judge would have as opposed to a white male judge who was the product of privilege. How the fuck does that make her a racist? I'm pissed off as you can tell. I don't have time to rant in a coherent way right now, suffice it to say that Newt Gingrich can kiss my narrow brown ass. Rush Limbaugh also, that overstuffed, overmedicated, and overexposed Betty Ford Clinic junkie. I'm glad Sonia Sotomayor was nominated! Blech! There, I'm done. For now.

Tuesday, May 26, 2009

Small tribute...


I came across an article about the world's oldest blogger who lived in Spain and passed away this past week. I read through a small portion of the blog and I intend to read more of it but I have to say that I was moved. I was moved by the simple way in which she summed up some of life's most complicated issues.


For example, on peace "...Que tengan conciencia, que piensen....no sé como se pueden acostar en la cama y dormir toda la noche eh, porque en sus manos está la destrucción de naciones.El ir a una guerra es una maldad muy grande, porque no sólo mata al gobernante, mata a los inocentes...¡Hombre, por Dios!"


By simple, I mean elegant and concise. I love how having lived life for so long and having such a broad range of experiences, one can make such informed summaries. And, of course, she reminded me of my grandmother who died 9 years ago yesterday. It's these moments that cause me to examine my life and to wonder if I'm living enough. I hope that some day, I can take Life up on Her proposal, to live fully and not turn back, like Amelia Lopez and my grandmother, Juanita Barrera Chapa, may they both rest in peace.

Tuesday, May 12, 2009

Come out, come out, wherever you are....

So, my office mate, heretofore to be known as Said Person only because she was referred to as such in previous blogs and I wanna keep it consistent, was crying before going home early today. She said she had a headache. Prior to that, she updated her status in a certain social networking site as "had a very serious conversation tonight; some revelations occurred. Things are about to change. Hopefully for the better..." and later, "Wasn't ready for the curveball". I wonder what's going on. I think it might have something to do with her husband...personally, I think he might have come out of the closet. When I first met him he set off the gaydar. But, this is only speculation and I'm not a complete jerk. I wanted to talk to her but crying people freak me out, I never know what to say or how to react. Not to mention, I didn't want to seem nosey. Honestly, I hope everything's alright.

That face...


Why is it that everytime I have to talk in private with Dutch Boy, my skin crawls? I can't even look her in the face. I try to, but it's so uncomfortable. My grandmother (we called her Nana) had an expression for people she didn't like, "Ni la puedo ver pintada". Ditto, Nana.

Friday, May 1, 2009

What lies beneath...

So, a certain someone at the program where I work is a super germ freak. It just so happens that she gets a walk in client today at clinic who's child was very ill and who by all appearences has the flu. And, we all know what that means at this point in time *cue the stabbing shrieks* PIG FLU!

So, said person rushes out of the office, grabs a surgical mask, puts it on, and then comes back to the client. One problem, the client is Mexican and became very offended at said person's reaction to her child. She was distraught and in tears and who had to apologize to her - yours truly. Normally my Spanish is pretty good, but when it comes to emotionally charged situations it falls apart. So there I am trying to dipolmatically diffuse the situation by phone in my suddenly broken Spanish. It was awful, and nothing I said would make a difference.


Not to mention, she was already upset that three weeks ago she had been to the clinic and witnessed her doctor give a referral to the program specialist that was at clinic that day but nothing was done about her case. She doesn't remember the name of the person that was there but there are only two people that go to clinic on Fridays, said person and Dutch Boy. And, I'm willing to be bet my bottom dollar that it was Dutch Boy who took the referral and forgot about. But, what will come of this. Nothing. I wrote detailed notes in the system and I hope someone's head rolls, but I seriously doubt it. I hate those fucking bitches, seriously.